Quote:
Originally Posted by NTX_Player
'C' league coed, with a male batter, male F6 wants to play "deep" short, like 40 - 50 feet on the outfield grass. PU says no, F6 must play on the dirt in order to be considered an infielder. F6 believes he can play as deep as he wants, so long as he stays in front of the outfielders.
ASA Rule 1 says an Infielder is a fielder who defends the area of the field around first, second, third or shortstop areas, and an Outfielder defends the area of the field that the left, left-center, right-center, and right fielders play.
Based on the definitions, why can't F6 can't play that deep? How is this different from using one of the outfielders as a rover (no longer using "left, left-center, right-center, and right fielders"), or using an over-shift for a LH batter?
Please explain, and substantiate with rules. Thank you.
|
To start, the dirt is irrelevant to every rule in the book. It has zero meaning or weight in ASA ball.
If F6 has left the area normally covered by infielders, he is now an outfielders. You can only have 4 outfielders, 2 of each gender. Now, if every infielder wanted to play that deep, not a problem, then you still have 4 infielders, 2 of each gender, assuming you also have 4 outfielders all playing behind the infielders.