View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 24, 2016, 10:04am
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
USSSA rules:

Batter assumes her batting stance in the box with her feet just inside the box on the plate side line (very tight to the plate). Her elbows are parallel to the ground extending over home plate several inches.

Pitch comes in and the batter starts to swing, but holds up her swing. In starting her swing, her elbows extend farther over the plate. The ball hits her in the elbow.

Obviously she was hit by the pitch, the question is do you award first base?
I don't do USSSA, but isn't it like NFHS? The batter gets first if hit by the ball entirely in the batters box or if hit by the ball outside the strike zone and she made an attempt to avoid getting hit? If so, though I'm having trouble visualizing this outside the strike zone, UJ ball/strike and UJ avoid/not.
Reply With Quote