View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 13, 2016, 03:52pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
Just like any other jump stop, it can be difficult to identify when the dribble ended, especially on a quick stepback like this. If it was gathered while he is in the air the staggered landing is legal, if it was gathered while the right foot is clearly planted, then yes it is a travel. But its not getting called unless that gather is very pronounced while the weight is on the right foot. That's just my $.02
I know nothing about NBA rules. (Despite fact wife calls me "knowitall."). However, I don't use the term "gather" because I think folks think it means when the ball is caught with 2 hands etc. I judge travel/jump stop based on when the dribble ends. When one hand goes under ball dribble is over. I look to feet at that moment...
Reply With Quote