Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul
So is this a correctable error situation for awarding unmerited FTs, or is the official just making an (incorrect) judgement call that the defender had possession prior to the foul?
|
We don't know that without speaking to the official. If he believed blacks push of the ball was a dribble/possession then it is judgment and not a correctable error. FT is proper under rules. (Even if you think he is factually wrong.) If the coach goes to the table within the time limits after something like this happens, the officials get together and the calling official says, "you know what, i had a brain cramp. i wasn't saying it was possession." This would be a correctable error. An unmerited free throw was given.