View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2016, 05:03pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner View Post
This is what I assumed and what makes sense to me, however my confusion stems from the following situation that I can't reconcile. A1 inbounds the ball from baseline of his frontcourt following a foul that caused the shot clock to be reset. A1 passes toward the backcourt and B1 while in (a) A's frontcourt or (b) A's backcourt deflects it over A2's head into the backcourt where it is retreived by A2. She shot clock properly starts when B1 deflects the pass. When does the 10-second count start in situations a and b.

Please don't take this as being argumentative or difficult. I trust you guys know what you are talking about, but I'm struggling with how the rule is written. The issue for me is that the NCAA rules define when the 10-second count begins, whereas the NFHS rules simply require team control of a ball in the backcourt and doesn't dictate when the count begins.
A. When it is touched/retrieved by A2, 10 count begins. That is first touch by player in BC.

B. When it is deflected by B. That is first touch in A's BC.
Reply With Quote