View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2016, 07:41pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
Sorry to disappoint you, but yes it can be. Please see AR 100. Player A1 attempts a shot which bounces off the rim and is rebounded by A2.

Player A2, who is located on the wing just inside the three point line gains possession of a long rebound and immediately drives to the basket with no defender. Player A2 crashes into the torso of B2 who is located within the RA.

Ruling: When B2 has established and maintained lgp, and illegal contact occurs it is a pc/charging foul on A2

As you can see, distance from the basket has no bearing on this exception.
So is the 3pt line the line of demarcation or is there no distance defined by the NCAA? I ask because on this play the rebounder was outside the 3pt line. He also had a defender who ran past him in an attempt to reach the ball. Does he count as the primary defender? The NCAA AR states that there is no defender on the rebounder.
Reply With Quote