View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 25, 2016, 10:17am
jpgc99 jpgc99 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Here is the Men's Rules

10-1-4
  • a. Keeping a hand or forearm on an opponent
  • b. Putting two hands on an opponent
  • c. Continually jabbing an opponent by extending an arm(s) and placing a hand or forearm on the opponent
  • d. Using an arm bar to impede the progress of the dribbler

None of these rules references happened on this play. The arm did not in any way impede the progress of the dribbler. He was going in one direction and he never was prevented from going in that direction.

The rule does not say "touching" is a foul. The contact has to do something. Even "b" has to be the defender actively putting their hands on the dribbler, not just retreating your hands that are likely in front of your body.

Now if you can show me a bulletin example I might agree with you. But I have not seen any such reference that suggest this play is a foul.

Peace
I agree 100% with everything JRut wrote. Touching is not a foul. I do not see any illegal contact initiated by the defense.
Reply With Quote