The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 25, 2016, 02:34am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Absent the contact from the defender's arm (yes, that was an armbar anyway yo slice it), you probably wouldn't have the pushoff. Call the first foul. I'm not calling the PC if I'm not calling the armbar.
Here is the Men's Rules

10-1-4
  • a. Keeping a hand or forearm on an opponent
  • b. Putting two hands on an opponent
  • c. Continually jabbing an opponent by extending an arm(s) and placing a hand or forearm on the opponent
  • d. Using an arm bar to impede the progress of the dribbler

None of these rules references happened on this play. The arm did not in any way impede the progress of the dribbler. He was going in one direction and he never was prevented from going in that direction.

The rule does not say "touching" is a foul. The contact has to do something. Even "b" has to be the defender actively putting their hands on the dribbler, not just retreating your hands that are likely in front of your body.

Now if you can show me a bulletin example I might agree with you. But I have not seen any such reference that suggest this play is a foul.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 25, 2016, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Here is the Men's Rules

10-1-4
  • a. Keeping a hand or forearm on an opponent
  • b. Putting two hands on an opponent
  • c. Continually jabbing an opponent by extending an arm(s) and placing a hand or forearm on the opponent
  • d. Using an arm bar to impede the progress of the dribbler

None of these rules references happened on this play. The arm did not in any way impede the progress of the dribbler. He was going in one direction and he never was prevented from going in that direction.

The rule does not say "touching" is a foul. The contact has to do something. Even "b" has to be the defender actively putting their hands on the dribbler, not just retreating your hands that are likely in front of your body.

Now if you can show me a bulletin example I might agree with you. But I have not seen any such reference that suggest this play is a foul.

Peace
I agree 100% with everything JRut wrote. Touching is not a foul. I do not see any illegal contact initiated by the defense.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Request: Indiana vs Purdue bas2456 Basketball 16 Wed Feb 24, 2016 02:27am
Miami Heat vs. Indiana Pacers (G5) LeBron James Plays (Video) Raymond Basketball 17 Thu May 29, 2014 04:05pm
Iowa at Purdue JRutledge Basketball 0 Sun Jan 27, 2013 05:45pm
Base-Brawl - Purdue vs Indiana Big Ten Championship grunewar Baseball 8 Tue May 29, 2012 08:50am
Indiana/Purdue game.... BradP Basketball 13 Wed Jan 28, 2004 02:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1