View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 25, 2016, 02:34am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Absent the contact from the defender's arm (yes, that was an armbar anyway yo slice it), you probably wouldn't have the pushoff. Call the first foul. I'm not calling the PC if I'm not calling the armbar.
Here is the Men's Rules

10-1-4
  • a. Keeping a hand or forearm on an opponent
  • b. Putting two hands on an opponent
  • c. Continually jabbing an opponent by extending an arm(s) and placing a hand or forearm on the opponent
  • d. Using an arm bar to impede the progress of the dribbler

None of these rules references happened on this play. The arm did not in any way impede the progress of the dribbler. He was going in one direction and he never was prevented from going in that direction.

The rule does not say "touching" is a foul. The contact has to do something. Even "b" has to be the defender actively putting their hands on the dribbler, not just retreating your hands that are likely in front of your body.

Now if you can show me a bulletin example I might agree with you. But I have not seen any such reference that suggest this play is a foul.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote