Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Hawks Coach,
A couple thoughts.
That 0.8 sec. could have been actually used if B had not had positive player control immediately, but if B went up and clamped the ball, the official could have reset to 2.2.
|
I have to disagree with you, mick. In NF play, the timer is allowed up to one second lag time. We have to allow him an opportunity to start and stop the clock. 5.10.1b Comment
Also, where does it say that a team can ask for a timeout before they actually have the ball unless it's dead? They may tell you that they're going to request a timeout if they get the ball. That might save them a split second because you're waiting for the request but they still have to make that request when they gain possession. 5-8-3a,b
|
Tony,
I understand your points, based on the information available in the case book and rule book.
But, I don't see where the clock
must start before a timeout is granted. Does the book say that somewhere?
We had a dead ball request for a time out before the team had control and an immediate TO called when that team got control. With immediate being as fast as it is, and with no rule that a team cannot request a timeout on the basis of if..., why can't we call it with no time used?
Take, for example, a coach preliminarily requesting a TO if the Free throw shooter makes it. We grant it on the make. The clock did not start. We don't wait for him to ask again.
So, why would we have to wait for a second request in the rebounding scenario.
mick