Thread: Rule 10-6-5
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2016, 11:15am
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 184
Rule 10-6-5

Trying to get a clear understanding of Rule 10-6-5 "A player shall not use the forearm and/or hand to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble or when throwing for goal”.

A1 dribbling the ball, facing her basket, with her arm extended out, elbow bent, forearm in front of her, “protecting” the ball. No foul or violation if she is by herself. If B1, while guarding A1, tries to steal the ball, but cannot due to A1's extended forearm, but there is no contact, then no foul. If B1 legally attempts to steal the ball, and initiates contact with the extended forearm of A1, PC foul on A1.

Do I have this correct?
Reply With Quote