View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 06, 2016, 01:27pm
BoomerSooner BoomerSooner is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 561
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
I'm not choosing a "hill to die on" over this, nor do I make it a habit of "looking for trouble". I hate issuing technical fouls over anything that most would agree is not a direct result of something game related (changing a jersey, scorebook changes, etc), but that is the job.

I don't want to belabor this issue, so I'll ask how you would handle this situation and acquiesce to the consensus opinion.

Player A12 has blood on his jersey and I direct him to leave the game. I walk with him to his bench area and say "Number 12 has blood on his jersey and by rule needs to have it cleaned or changed. If he changes his jersey, he needs to go someplace where he can't be seen from the court or a technical foul will be called. Also if he has to change jersey number, he'll need to report that to the scorer but there is no penalty for changing the book. Will you send a sub to the table so we can get going again?"

The coach replies, "Can I use a timeout to keep him in the game?"

I reply, "Yes, but he will need to be ready by the end of the timeout and remember if he's going to change jerseys he's got to do it where he can't be seen from the court. If he isn't going to make it back in time, you'll need to have a sub at the table at the 15 second warning."

The coach calls the timeout. He then has the entire team stand up and form a tight semi-circle around A12 who is sitting on the bench. I can't see A12, but I am in a position to see if anyone has left the bench area. The only movement I observe is a trainer leave and return with a jersey. As the time out ends I see A12 stand from the bench and approach the scorer's table to inform them that he will be wearing number 22 for the remainder of the game.

At no time was I able to directly observe A12 remove his jersey, but I know with certainty that he is no longer wearing the same jersey as he was before the timeout and that he did not leave the bench area during the timeout. I instructed the coach on the rule when I initially directed A12 to leave the game, I reminded him of the rule when he asked about using a timeout and he determined that his solution was appropriate because I couldn't see it. Do I agree and pass on it or do I issue a technical foul?

Please note the issue isn't whether or not I'm looking for trouble, but whether or not I should call a technical foul for something I didn't directly observe even if I know with absolute certainty what happened, and that it happened despite the coach having been given clear and fair instructions on the rule and penalty. Also, please don't comment that I could merely turn my back to the bench or have gone to get some water and would have no idea whether or not A12 left or that I could have prevented this by running over and giving a third warning to the coach.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote