Originally Posted by BillyMac
Travel? How about an illegal dribble? No. the case book says this is legal. No travel. No illegal dribble. We're legal here and have no whistle.
Clear? The caseplay doesn't even state if the player moves his feet between the throw and the catch.Because it doesn't need to. If the same act the player did was against the floor then it would be a violation by rule. Since you can pick up your dribble, throw the ball of the backboard, and then catch it without there being a violation... there's no reason to go into what isn't or is legal -- it just told you. Throwing the ball off the backboard is like throwing it off one of your own players. How can that be clear? He can't travel if he doesn't move his feet.Sure, but he can double dribble if he throws it at the floor and catches it. Backboard isn't there floor. It's like another player and the case book shows that with NOT calling something that would be a violation if it was off the floor. It's the same as a player standing, not moving his pivot foot, or either foot, and tossing the ball up in the air a couple of times, which has already been interpreted as a non-call.No it's not. The air we are breathing is not considered part of a players 'equipment' The catch was never a travel because he never moved his feet. Since this caseplay does not identify the throw as a shot, then the player can only legally begin a new dribble under a few circumstances:
9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
Again, assuming it's not a shot (the caseplay doesn't call it a shot), has the ball touched an opponent; or was it a pass, or fumble, that was then touched by another player? We already know that you can't pass the ball to yourself (or your backboard, you can only pass to another player), so it wasn't a pass, plus it was never touched by another player. It was intentional so it wasn't a fumble, plus, again, it was never touched by another player. Did the ball ever touch an opponent? The case play says it hit the backboard and that's it. Then catching the ball is legal: not a double dribble. You're trying to add in irrelevant information that isn't in the play. It said exactly what happened. We don't need to figure out if someone touched the ball or not. Picks up dribble. Throws it off backboard. Catches ball. Legal. You're worrying about so much stuff that doesn't mean anything. If there's one, and only one, thing you should be worried about it's what is 'equipment'.
Why wouldn't this be an illegal dribble?Cause case play?
Could it be that some interpret a ball thrown at the player's own backboard as always, automatically, being a shot? Where's the rule interpretation for that (NFHS)?It doesn't say this anywhere. It does, however, a team's own backboard is their equipment.
|