View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2003, 12:08pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
[QUOTE]Originally posted by CecilOne
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I don't believe this needs an "official" interpretation as it is clearly stated (at least in my mind) in the rule book.

Rule 10.E states that the courtesy runner is not permitted to run as a courtesy runner for the DP if the DP is batting for the pitcher or catcher.
... snip ...

The 2003 ASA Clinic guide basically says the same thing in simpler terms. Yes, 8.10.E is clear in what it says, but remember, the pitcher was on base, not the DP; which is why it needed an interpretation and why NFHS issued one.
Which is why I also quoted 8.10.B which directly addresses the pitcher returning to run for the individual who safely reached base.
Quote:
Also, that might be why it is mentioned in the ASA clinic guide, which we never see,
Anyone may purchase this via softball.org. It is not a classified document


Quote:
so the clinicians could clarify it. The main point of 8.10.E is that the pitcher or catcher can not have both a "designated" pinch-hitter and a "courtesy" pinch-runner, without ever appearing at the plate.
Glad you knew the right answer, anyway (big surprise ). I wonder if there will be an exception next year for injured DP's, like there is for injured CR's.

Thank you
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote