View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2003, 11:47am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I don't believe this needs an "official" interpretation as it is clearly stated (at least in my mind) in the rule book.

Rule 10.E states that the courtesy runner is not permitted to run as a courtesy runner for the DP if the DP is batting for the pitcher or catcher.
... snip ...

The 2003 ASA Clinic guide basically says the same thing in simpler terms. [/B]
Yes, 8.10.E is clear in what it says, but remember, the pitcher was on base, not the DP; which is why it needed an interpretation and why NFHS issued one. Also, that might be why it is mentioned in the ASA clinic guide, which we never see, so the clinicians could clarify it. The main point of 8.10.E is that the pitcher or catcher can not have both a "designated" pinch-hitter and a "courtesy" pinch-runner, without ever appearing at the plate.
Glad you knew the right answer, anyway (big surprise ). I wonder if there will be an exception next year for injured DP's, like there is for injured CR's.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote