View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2003, 11:35am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
the official NFHS ruling

Here is the official NFHS interpretation:

"SITUATION 12: The DH, who is batting for the pitcher, reaches first base. The offensive coach requests time to bring the pitcher in to pinch-run for the DH, thus eliminating the use of the DH for the remainder of the game. The coach then wants to insert a courtesy runner for the pitcher. RULING: A courtesy runner is not permitted since the DH was batting for the pitcher. (8-9-5)"
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote