View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2016, 02:36pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If it's a fumble touched by an opponent, or a deflected pass touched by an opponent, sure go ahead and dribble again, it's legal.

But what if it's not a fumble, nor is it a pass, rather, it's intentionally thrown against a opponent?

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:

ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

BigCat: I see your point and would probably actually call it your way in a real game, but is the interpretation supported by the written rule? Ask the question, "Why did the player lose control?" Because he intentionally threw it away.
An opponent is "another player." Also there are times we have to wait to see what happens next to determine if something is a dribble or pass. I dribble across division line and pick up ball. There is no one on the other side of the court straight across from me. If I throw the ball there to no one it looks like a pass but if I run and get it after it bounces it actually was a dribble. If you are on my team and you run and get it or any other player on court does it is a pass.

There are times when we have to wait to see what happens next to know if a dribble or pass occurred. This video is an example of it. 4.44.3A(d) and Ar 193 support it.