Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
I'm sure. If I throw the ball and it hits you it is a pass. I can go get it, dribble again ...
|
If it's a fumble touched by an opponent, or a deflected pass touched by an opponent, sure go ahead and dribble again, it's legal.
But what if it's not a fumble, nor is it a pass, rather, it's intentionally thrown against a opponent?
9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has
lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
BigCat: I see your point and would probably actually call it your way in a real game, but is the interpretation supported by the written rule? Ask the question, "Why did the player lose control?" Because he intentionally threw it away.