View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2016, 02:47pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,388
A Touchy Subject ...

From Ref60 Home of "60 Seconds of Officiating" website, article on basket interference:

A Touchy Subject | Ref 60

Post by zackman, December 29, 2015 at 8:15 pm:
It is not always goaltending when a shot is touched while on the way down – If a layup (or bank shot) is one it’s way down, it can still be legally blocked provided the ball is not yet above the cylinder.

Post by BillyMac, January 30, 2016 at 1:39 pm:
On most layups, the ball is going up immediately after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up, and is not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. It is goaltending if, after a layup, the ball is on it’s way down, and is not in the cylinder.

I'm (BillyMac, that's me) right, right? (NFHS rules)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 30, 2016 at 03:03pm.
Reply With Quote