Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad
Lost me here, example? Seems with zero accuracy there's no definite knowledge.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Lah, me. I'll explain it to you.
If the foul happens with 0.7 on the clock and the whistle blows with 0.5, but the official doesn't look until 0.2, then 0.2 is what gets restored by rule. In this case the official is not accurate as he was slow to look either when blowing the whistle or hearing his partner's. However, he does have definite knowledge.
|
Another example....the clock is at 7.5 at the time of a throwin that is immediately caught inbounds while closely guarded. The clock doesn't start. The official's 5-count is in progress and gets to 5 without the clock starting. Like many official's counts, the count is slow and it was really 8 seconds. You still take 5 off the clock regardless of how accurate the official's count is.