View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2016, 11:56pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
I've never heard of that rule either. The definition of a travel speaks of releasing the ball before the pivot foot is lifted, but that assumes that the player is already standing.
You could also catch a pass while airborne and start a dribble before any foot touched the floor. A pivot foot does not need to be established before a dribble starts.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Additionally, a standing player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor isn't required to pivot before being permitted to dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote