View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2016, 10:56pm
OfficialBFish OfficialBFish is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 19
Starting Dribble from floor

Had this situation this weekend. A1 dives to the floor for loose ball, coach yells, "You can dribble to get up!". Player starts a dribble and lifts a foot off the ground simultaneously, and then fully stands up while continuing to dribble. My partner calls an illegal dribble, which drives the coach and several fans in the stands absolutely berserk. Her explanation was that according to the handbook, a pivot foot must be established before you can start a dribble. I've never heard the rule applied in this context before, and I've never heard of a player not being able to dribble in order to stand up. Anyone have anything to prove/disprove the validity of her call??
Reply With Quote