| 
			
			 
			
				Fri Jan 15, 2016, 02:52pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Nov 2014 Location: Illinois 
						Posts: 1,804
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by johnny d  This play is very simple to adjudicate.  It is only worth 2 points at any level.  If you need proof, keep reading.
 
 A.R. 103. A ball passed from behind the three-point line: 1� Enters the basket from above and passes through; 2� Is deflected and enters the basket from above and passes through; or 3� Strikes the side of the ring or the flange� RULING 1: A three-point goal shall be counted. 2: When there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection causes the goal to be successful, it shall be a two-point goal. However, when a ball is passed in the direction of the basket with the possibility of entering the basket from above and the deflection does not influence its success, a three-point goal shall be counted. 3: The ball shall remain live. In each case, when a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock. (Rule 5-1.1, 5-1.2.a, 5-1.3 and .4, 4-24 and 2-11.6.d)
 |  I had this happen in a regional final a few years ago. I counted it as a 2 for these reasons.  It would help if the nfhs play was written like ar 103.
		 
				 Last edited by BigCat; Fri Jan 15, 2016 at 03:13pm.
 |