Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
This part is all false and that is why you reach the wrong conclusion.
No rule makes the ball dead in the FT situation. There is no violation or foul. The ball isn't dead until the official sounds the whistle. Everything before then is timed.
For the illegal touch on the throw-in, we have a violation that makes the ball dead and a rule stating that the clock does not start. We also have an NFHS clarification from a few years ago instructing the officials that no time comes off on this infraction.
Two totally different plays which you cannot equate.
|
Ah, okay. I am interpreting the play by the incorrect conditions that the official created by saying 2 shots. Thanks. On the other hand, and I appreciate your patience, you are saying the ball remains live on the missed free throw and is rebounded or ends up in the hands of a player B: meaning the ball has been touched, the clock starts, and...player and team control has been established, correct? Play is then immediately ruled dead. The casebook says since the error put one team at a disadvantage the solution is to resume by the AP. Therefore, it appears the legal touching and possession of the live ball by Team B has been nullified by the casebook ruling. If this is true, wouldn't it stand to reason that the clock should be reset? I would like to be convinced one way or the other. Right now I am not sure but I am still leaning toward resetting the clock. Appreciate all opinions.