Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
If referee calls the 7th foul on defense of half, isn't aware of 1 and 1, allows offense to inbound the ball. Offense Dribbles ball, 3 seconds run off clock. Whistle. It is a CE. We know 3 seconds ran off clock that shouldn't. The correction is to go back and shoot the 1&1. Rule does not allow us to put that 3 seconds back on. That's just the rule.
If you catch it "immediately" and you can say or want to say you discovered the error, clock shouldn't have started you can. My other point was that you may not want to put the time back either. We have to go to the arrow because of the screwup. If it points to offense they get ball under their basket and you add time. That Makes the situation worse.
|
Now you are changing the situation. That is not what happened in the OP. The OP told the teams the wrong FT situation. It was not a situation where we called a foul and did not shoot the FTs. That is very different than what we were talking about from jump. No one is advocating in a CE to put time back on the clock. Part of the CE situation is you go from the POE to make the correction.
Peace