Help needed from FIBA Officials.
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker
After watching outrage at a freshman game when the officials (correctly) did not call a back court violation when a player stopped with one foot in the front court and threw the ball to a teammate in the back court, I was trying to remember back in the day. My recollection was that it used to be that once a foot was in the front court, it couldn't come back to the back court, nor could the ball be passed back. Did that used to be the rule, or was that just a misconception/myth from my playing days?
|
That may be a misconception/myth from your playing days. I know that the FIBA Backcourt Rule is not the same as NFHS/NCAA Men's & Women's Rules. I know that FIBA does not have the Three Points Rule with respect to a dribbler. I have not been a USA Basketball Official for ten years but I still try to stay up on FIBA Rules. Hopefully one of our brothers or sisters from the Great White North can elaborate more on the FIBA Backourt Rule.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|