View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2016, 03:23pm
jpgc99 jpgc99 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas Ref View Post
Please peruse the sitch described in 7.4.b..
I have observed 99.9% of refs to designate the throw-in for Team B at the original spot where A1 was, rather than heading to the other end of the court and designating a throw in for Team B at the nearest OOB spot.
I don't have my books with me, but is this a caseplay regarding the spot of a backcourt violation? Or a potential back court violation that does not occur because the ball goes out of bounds before being touched in the backcourt by A?

In either case, the spot of the next throw in should be the spot nearest to where the violation (either out of bounds or backcourt) occurs.

Not a hard rule to understand, but hard to believe that you have observed 99.9% of refs get this wrong.
Reply With Quote