View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 29, 2015, 04:57pm
Freddy Freddy is offline
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Basket Interference - NFHS vs. NBA

The NFHS and NBA uses somewhat similar words in expressing this part of their respective basket interference rules . . .
NFHS: "...touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base."
NBA: "...shall not touch the ball or the basket ring when the ball is using the basket ring as its lower base."
. . . but are the two rules actually different?
What got me thinking is the explanation stated in this excerpted clip from something I found online: NBA Basket Interference Explanation - Ronnie Nunn
Putting all this together, is it correct that the play in the video would be BI by NFHS rule but not BI by NBA rules? Parsing the words of each rule seems to suggest yes, because though the words "the basket ring as its lower base" are used in both, they really seem to be saying two different things. Is that correct?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote