View Single Post
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 29, 2015, 09:08am
SD Referee SD Referee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I'm going to say this again. Recovering a fumble is never a travel. You can't travel if you don't have possession of the ball.

4-44-1. Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball.
What if a player picks up their dribble and they conveniently "fumble" the ball towards the hoop, pick it up before the defense (bad defense by the way) and then shoot a layup? No call?

I very well understand the rules and the definitions. It just doesn't seem like a legal basketball move when you are stuck without your dribble. I guess we have to go back to you can fumble-dribble-fumble but you cannot dribble-fumble-dribble.
Reply With Quote