View Single Post
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 10:38am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Finally heard back from my rules interpreter.

This sounds like a judgement call. If you feel that A1 was in the act of passing the ball and then tried to hold up but releases the pass anyway, I would say it is a violation if A1 was the first to touch the ball. If you feel A1 legitimately fumbled the ball without attempting to pass it, then it could be argued that A1 could be the first to pick up the ball. I think if A1 started any kind of passing motion and then tried to bring it back and lost the ball in the process, I would call it a pass and at that point and A1 could not be the first to pick up the ball.
What rules interpreter? An association can have a rules interpreter who has less knowledge than a first year official.

Is this your wording after speaking with a rules interpreter or their exact words?
Reply With Quote