Quote:
Originally Posted by packersowner
A1 try is above the imaginary cylinder when B1 touches does the following:
1 - touches the basket
2 - grasps and pulls the ring down
Rule 4-6-1
Basket Interference occurs when a player touches the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within either basket.
I need some clarification, in 1 no basket interference? In 2, as long as the ring does not contact the ball before returning to its original position, no basket interference?
|
When the ball is in the "cylinder" it's not "on or within the basket". The "Basket" is defined as the ring, flange, braces, net -- and not any vertical airspace.
Note that touching the BALL in the play is BI -- not because of the rule you quoted but because of another (probably the very next clause, but I don't have the books to check).