Just to clear something up, the 9 yard nine marks infraction is not an offside foul, it is a foul for illegal formation.
The announced foul was offside. I guarantee you that if it was an illegal formation foul, they would have announced it as such.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6oC...ature=youtu.be
Here is the video of the play. Notice that the tick marks at the bottom? Those are the 9 yard marks. You have maybe one or two players not inside them.
Perhaps a technical infraction but not one you'll see called on a kickoff in college. The approved mechanic is if you're going to do anything about it, is to tell the players to get inside the nine yard mark to make them legal.
You need to trust the people that have actually officiated games using NCAA rules (I have as well) when we say that isn't the call.