Re: Here ya go, Rook!
Questions posted by BktBallRef
TRAVELING OR NOT?
Play #1 - A1 is holding the ball. Her left foot is her pivot foot. She steps with her right foot and starts to throw a pass. However, a defender leaps in front of her at the last possible moment. She holds onto the ball put lifts her pivot foot. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: NOT..... not until the pivot foot returns to the floor.
Play #2 - A2 passes the ball to A1. A1 is holding the ball and being guarded by B1. A1 tosses the ball over B1's head and takes off around B1. After the ball hits the floor, A1 grabs it, takes one step, and shoots the ball for a lay-up. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: VIOLATION.....not sure on this one...but I don't think a player can "pass" to himself (this is NOT an honest "try" for a goal as in question #8)
Play #3 - A1 is dribbling on a fast break. He passes the ball ahead to A2, who is running down the court. He muffs the catch, bobbles the ball but succeeds in securing control before it strikes the floor. A2 took four steps after he initially touched the ball, before securing it. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: NOT.....there has to be control before a travel can occur.
Play #4 - A1 is in position for a rebound. He taps the rebound into the air to prevent a defender from gaining possession. He taps the ball into the air 4 times and takes 5 steps while trying to keep the ball away from the opponent. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: VIOLATION.....sounds to me as if these are "controlled" taps, his hand must be under the ball to be tapping (not sure if that has anything to do with it or not)
Play #5 - A1 dives for a loose ball on the floor. She gains control of the ball but continues to slide before coming to a stop and requesting a timeout. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: NOT.....if she makes no attempt to get up or rollover....this is NOT a violation.
Play #6 - A1 falls to the floor and is lying on her back when she recovers a loose ball. She sits up and passes the ball to A2. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: VIOLATION....the player made an attempt to get up....I call travel.
Play #7 - A1 is out of bounds for a spot throw-in. After the ball is placed at her disposal. She runs the baseline. Is this a traveling violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: VIOLATION.....A throw in violation, but NOT a travel.
Play #8 - A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: NOT.....a player may catch his own missed shot attempt (when will players get "savy" enough to make it look like a shot just to get out of a bad situation? I don't care for this rule btw!)
Play #9 - Dribbler A1 catches the ball with the right foot touching the floor and then jumps off that foot and alights on both feet simultaneously with one foot in advance of the other. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer: NOT....as long as the feet alight "simultaneously"...alignment has nothing to do with it.
Play #10 - Airborne A1 and A2 jointly grab the rebound and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other before realizing they are teammates. A1 lets go and A2 dribbles away. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
My Answer NOT.....teammates may have simultaneous control as long as neither travels.
OK...those are my answers without referring to the book....I figure I'll do that when I get corrected! (thanks Bkt)........
__________________
haven't found a witty quote yet
|