View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 04, 2015, 12:16pm
Gutierrez7 Gutierrez7 is offline
Aztec-Irishman
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Game is on ESPN.

6:45 mark of the second half, block/charge play.

I'm trying to figure out for the life of me what the defender did to deserve the blocking call. Did he lean into the offensive player as contact occurred?

Also, the lead made this call from the opposite side of the lane. Would this ideally be the C's call?
Let's ask the college officials among us: this call looks like its based in the recent change of ruling on block/charge to increase scoring. Looks like W43 did not obtain his legal guarding position prior to B35 "gathering" or "begining" his try for shot. note:W43 is clearly outside the restricted arc. In NFHS, a defender is only required to obtain LGP prior to the ball handler "leaving the floor". I believe NCAA require LGP earlier.
__________________
Tomorrow is promised to no one. Stay thirsty my friend!
Reply With Quote