View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2015, 12:11pm
frezer11 frezer11 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
7-6-2
The throw-in begins when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw in. The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within 5 seconds after the throw in begins.
And this is EXACTLY why I wanted to bring this up for discussion, as there seems to be separate interpretations in the case book and rules book. The defender is allowed to essentially take a handoff from the thrower by taking it out of his hands (legal by case book play 7.6.4A), yet if the offensive player does the same, then the thrower seems to have violated by rule 7-6-2. So which ruling should apply for the offensive player?

Also, and I realize that the case book play deems it legal, so we need to officiate as such, but why is it not a violation on the thrower in when the defender take the ball from them? They have not completed a throw-in as defined by the rule book.

Last edited by frezer11; Tue Dec 01, 2015 at 12:24pm.
Reply With Quote