Quote:
Originally Posted by Geof
I'm having a bit of a hard time with this one. Lets start with the throw-in. If the ball is tipped, the throw-in has ended, so all throw-in exceptions no longer exist. The ball location is the same as when it last touched a player, so if an offensive player in his/her front court tips the ball, the ball location is is the front court. If it is tipped into the backcourt and retrieved by an offensive player, I'm seeing this as a backcourt violation.
Exact same train of thought for a shot....
|
The throw-in ending does not mean you have possession in the FC which is required for a violation for a BC to take place. Touching or tipping the ball does not establish possession. And on a shot if the ball is tipped and tapped around does not establish control in either part of the court. The rule states possession, has to be established in the FC then be the first to touch in the BC after you were the last to touch in the FC. You are buying into the very myth that this point is trying to get you and others out of thinking is the rule.
Peace