Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
However, timing violations are different from court violations.
This situation is very unlike a missed travel or other judgment call by an official. Here we have a clock with numbers on it for everyone to see.
If the three officials fail to whistle the 10-second violation and the coaches start screaming at 18 seconds and an official then catches on at 16 seconds, he could certainly make this violation call with the ball still live. So I'm going to disagree that it is too late to call a clock violation just because the ball became dead by going OOB.
Someone else can check the rulings for these, but I ask:
1. When is it too late to correct a timing error pertaining to the shot clock? Must it be done during that shot clock period?
My feeling is that if a timing error can be fixed during a shot clock period (before those 30 seconds expire), then an erroneous 10-second situation should be able to be fixed as well within that same timeframe.
|
Hey, I'm just telling you what the SRE has told us. If you disagree, take it up with him
At any rate, you can only correct a timing error related to the shot clock during the shot-clock period in which it occurred. However, assuming the shot clock started properly, this isn't a timing error. It's an "official didn't notice how much time was on the shot clock" error.