Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan
The logic is that's it's just like any other violation we miss. If you realize you miss a travel you don't go back 3 seconds later and penalize the offense for it. This is the same thing (according to the SRE)
|
However, timing violations are different from court violations.
This situation is very unlike a missed travel or other judgment call by an official. Here we have a clock with numbers on it for everyone to see.
If the three officials fail to whistle the 10-second violation and the coaches start screaming at 18 seconds and an official then catches on at 16 seconds, he could certainly make this violation call with the ball still live. So I'm going to disagree that it is too late to call a clock violation just because the ball became dead by going OOB.
Someone else can check the rulings for these, but I ask:
1. When is it too late to correct a timing error pertaining to the shot clock? Must it be done during that shot clock period?
My feeling is that if a timing error can be fixed during a shot clock period (before those 30 seconds expire), then an erroneous 10-second situation should be able to be fixed as well within that same timeframe.