Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d
The bolded and underlined text above is incorrect by rule in NCAA-M. Not sure about NCAA-W.
|
You are going to have to prove otherwise to me. Specifically, what are you claiming is the location of a ball in flight during a pass or try?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
7-5.1.a.1 is the same in both, I think:
1. A ball that is not in contact with a player or the playing court retains
the same status as when it was last in contact with a player or the
playing court. This does not apply to a try in flight.
|
Bob, please don't forget that this is from the section specific to a POI throw-in. If you also include the sentence which immediately precedes what you have quoted, you will note that it states "the team that was in control" and that is why "This does not apply to a try in flight." is included in the next paragraph. The rules writers wished to be clear that this throw-in rule does not apply for a try as there is no team control.
"a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a designated spot nearest
to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred"
Bob's quoted passage now follows here.