View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 13, 2015, 10:23pm
junruh07 junruh07 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
The bolded and underlined statement above is incorrect if we are going by NCAA-M rules. The play in the referenced game only counted as two points because it is stated in the rulebook that any field goal scored in an opponents basket counts as two points, regardless of where the player's location on the playing court when the ball was released. It has nothing to do with whether or not the shot was a try or not.

Additionally, when an offensive player throws a pass into their own basket from beyond the 3 point line, 3 points are awarded. It does not need to be a shot attempt to get 3 points. There is a specific case play that covers this situation.
I had a play a couple of years ago that made me glad I had read the rule book. Team A had the ball for a backcourt throw-in. A2 was confused. He received the inbounds pass and found himself wide open for a 3. He paused for a second while I was trying to tell him not to do it in my head. Sure enough, he shot it, and it was nothing but net, only the wrong net. We correctly awarded B 2 points and gave A another shot at a backcourt inbounds. This was a VB game. I don't think I will be seeing a play like that again.
Reply With Quote