View Single Post
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2015, 11:03pm
jpgc99 jpgc99 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The rule says if the clock is stopped because the defense knocks the ball out of bounds there is no reset of the shot clock. That is all it says. If the count is at 8 and defense knocks it out of bounds then offense has 2 to get it across. That is what the rule says. There is nothing written anywhere in the rules which says a timeout by the offense after the ball is knocked out by the defense gives a new count. Should it? yes. but that is not what the rule says.

If the stoppage is from defense knocking ball out dont reset clock. If somoebody else fouls after the ball is out of bounds then you are right about subsequent acts taking precedence. there's nothing saying a timeout has that effect...
I agree with all of this. The way the rule is written states that the action that causes the clock to stop determines whether or not the 10 second count is reset. In the example we are discussing, the timeout does not cause the game clock to stop. It is already stopped because of the OOB.

I think we will learn the intent is to allow the timeout to reset the 10 second count, but the confusion before any official clarification comes out is legitimate. There should be a case play or more accurate wording in the rule itself.
Reply With Quote