Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
If the time out is called while the ball is still alive then it is clearly supported by rule to reset the count. The timeout caused the stoppage. The play i'm thinking of, and likely BNR also, is if the defense knocks the ball out of bounds. That is the reason for the clock stoppage. Under the rule as written, there should not be a reset of the count. There isn't anything in the rule to say that the offense can use a timeout at that time to get a new count.
|
When does the timeout occur? It occurs AFTER the defense has knocked the ball OOB. So, when the defense knocks it OOB, the count doesn't reset (yet). But, when the offensive team calls a timeout, it then resets the count as timeouts called by the offensive team do. There is (presumably since I have not actually read the rule) no qualification that the timeout be called with the clock running in order for the timeout to reset the count.