Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan
Knowing the NCAAW SRE and his efforts to streamline the rule books, my guess is it wasn't specified because of this...
A time-out granted to Team A stops the clock and it's not one of the three reasons we won't reset, so it's a reset. It's one of those cases where the rule book says do X unless A, B or C happens. Neither A, B nor C happened, so do X.
|
If the time out is called while the ball is still alive then it is clearly supported by rule to reset the count. The timeout caused the stoppage. The play i'm thinking of, and likely BNR also, is if the defense knocks the ball out of bounds. That is the reason for the clock stoppage. Under the rule as written, there should not be a reset of the count. There isn't anything in the rule to say that the offense can use a timeout at that time to get a new count.