Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21
and a FT doesn't end until the try is successful, when the ball touches the floor or any player, or when the ball becomes dead. So from the time the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, to when one of the things in the last sentence happens, the ball is in Team A's control.
|
Already covered is the fact that there is no team control when a FT is in the air. However, there is one more thing here that is also incorrect. There is one more reason a ends that you haven't listed and it is among the more common reasons.
Rule 4-20 ART. 3 . . . The free throw ends when the try is successful,
when it is certain the try will not be successful, when the try touches the floor or any player, or when the ball becomes dead.
So, the FT ends when it comes off the rim, not later as you imply.
As for the rules support for the fact that team control ends when the FT is released:
Rule 4-37 ART. 1 . . . Rebounding is an attempt by any player to secure possession of the ball following a try or tap for goal.
In a rebounding situation there is no player or team control.
The rule you reference about the try and control only referring to 2 or 3 point shots and not FTs is just wrong. It says a "FIELD" goal is an attempt to score 2 or 3 points, not that a try is an attempt to score 2 or 3. Rule 4-12 says that team control continues until a try or tap is in flight without regard to whether it is a FT or a FG.
Then there is the definition of a FT:
Rule 4-20 ART. 1 . . . A free throw is the opportunity given a player to score one point by
an unhindered try for goal from within the free-throw semicircle and behind the free-throw line.