Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker
This seems to me an apples an oranges comparison -- you've changed it to restarting play the wrong way instead of a late call. I'm not a hoops ref (I do soccer -- in which the ref unamiguously could and should make the late correction in the OP, so long as play is not restarted, but could not correct your scenario as play was restarted). But I'm curious -- what *is* the criteria for when it is "too late" to make a call under BB rules?
|
It's a bit fuzzy as far as how long is too late, but going back and calling a BC violation after the player has dribbled half the length of the court and scored is universally considered "too late."
A good rule of thumb (but not exhaustive), I suppose, is that you can't go back and call it after the ball has become dead for another reason.
Here, the ball is dead when the player scores.
Likewise, if the player had dribbled and a defender (for some reason) had gone down and fouled him (or knocked the ball OOB) instead, you could not go back and get the BC violation.