View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 26, 2003, 02:37am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
The pertinent rules are R9-1-2(which states that it is a violation for the defensive team not to fill the bottom 2 spaces)and R9-1PENALTY2a&b(which gives you the appropriate penalty application for this particular violation).Please note that R9-1PENALTY2a&b says that it is NOT an immediate technical foul as you stated above,which was what Mark was trying to point out to you.
[/B][/QUOTE]

10.1.5 Situation C: The calling official has reported the foul at the table and proceeds to the free throw lane area to administer the first of two free throws awarded to A1. B1 and B2 are: (a) huddling in the lane; or (b) two B players are not occupying the two marked spaces next to the end line as required. Ruling: In (a), if the huddle delays the official's administration, Team B is warned. The warning is recorded by the scorer and reported to the head coach. If Team B had been previously warned for free-throw delay, a technical foul shall be charged. In (b), Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is delay, a technical foul shall be charged to Team B.
[/B][/QUOTE]Nevada,the T issued in this caseplay is for refusing to follow the official's explicit instructions.What's the call if you don't direct the B players to fill these slots,and then they don't when the FT is taken?

I'll stick with my answer above. Might be a good idea for you to check with your local rules interpreter on this one too,if you don't believe us.
Reply With Quote