Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog
Lose "self pass" from your lexicon as quickly as possible.
|
NBA stated:
"A player may not be the first to touch his own pass unless the ball touches his backboard, basket ring or another player"
so if the referee determines that the player was trying to pass, it can be treated as a violation on the above clause. whether or not the player actually started a dribble prior to ending the dribble while saving the ball is irrelevant as long as the throw is seen as a pass, and this situation is not uncommon when the supposingly receiver misses the pass & A1 goes to retrieve the ball and be the 1st person to touch it.