View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2015, 07:02pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
I worked the bases at a middle school final this past week.

Typically, the MS coaches keep their own lineup cards and manage their changes. My partner asked if he should manage the lineup cards for this game and I suggested that he should given that it was the Finals.

He mentioned it at the plate conference and both coaches balked at it (guess you can balk in softball) so the PU somewhat relented and said to inform him when they made any changes.

About the 4th or 5th inning, a batter reached first base. Offense Coach declares that he wants to use a CR for his pitcher. I was looking at the girl on 1B, and didn't think it was the pitcher. CR takes the runner's place. After a play which resulted in the next batter grounding out, the CR took 2B.

Now Defense Coach comes out to the PU and claims that the CR was not running for the last player to be the pitcher.

Turns out the O Coach was going to put her in to pitch next inning, but she hadn't pitched yet. PU and both coaches ended up having about a 5 minute conversation. Since I wasn't asked to participate, I just stayed out in the field. PU got both coaches to agree to allow the CR to stay on the bases, and again reiterated to both to let him know about any changes.

Game ended up as a rout with a final of 11-2.

After the game, we discussed what should have happened.

My first point was that the PU should have managed his lineup card better and not allowed the CR in the first place.

But, since he did allow it, and the D Coach caught it, what should the penalty have been?

I believe it would be covered under 3-4 Illegal Substitute. The CR would have been called out and restricted to the bench.

If that is indeed the correct rule to cover this, it seems harsh on the girl who was just following her coach's instructions. I saw nothing about a penalty to the coach.

Any other rules that might apply here?

Thanx.
First and Foremost: Coaches do not tell me that I am not going not going to keep the lineup cards. I do keep the lineup cards each and every game I umpire when I am the PU. The HCs can moan and groan all they want but it is my diamond and my (actually NFHS Softball Rules) rules, and I keep the lineup cards. And by the way, did I mention that I keep the lineup cards.

There is another reason I keep the lineup cards. Yesterday in a 10U pool play game and neither team is using the DP/Flex: Team A has Able, who is batting in the 4th spot and playing F4, walks. Baker, who is a substitute PRs for Able. The half inning ends and A-HC informs that Able is re-entering, and that she is going to have Baker take Charles place as F7, and did I mention that Charles in batting in the 7th spot, . I informed that Baker could not take Charles place, she wanted to why she couldn't because: Baker had not been in the game yet, . She could not grasp the concept that Baker had been in the game when she PR for Able and then if Baker was going to re-enter the game it had to be in the 4th spot of the batting order.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote