NFHS rule set on CR infraction
I worked the bases at a middle school final this past week.
Typically, the MS coaches keep their own lineup cards and manage their changes. My partner asked if he should manage the lineup cards for this game and I suggested that he should given that it was the Finals.
He mentioned it at the plate conference and both coaches balked at it (guess you can balk in softball) so the PU somewhat relented and said to inform him when they made any changes.
About the 4th or 5th inning, a batter reached first base. Offense Coach declares that he wants to use a CR for his pitcher. I was looking at the girl on 1B, and didn't think it was the pitcher. CR takes the runner's place. After a play which resulted in the next batter grounding out, the CR took 2B.
Now Defense Coach comes out to the PU and claims that the CR was not running for the last player to be the pitcher.
Turns out the O Coach was going to put her in to pitch next inning, but she hadn't pitched yet. PU and both coaches ended up having about a 5 minute conversation. Since I wasn't asked to participate, I just stayed out in the field. PU got both coaches to agree to allow the CR to stay on the bases, and again reiterated to both to let him know about any changes.
Game ended up as a rout with a final of 11-2.
After the game, we discussed what should have happened.
My first point was that the PU should have managed his lineup card better and not allowed the CR in the first place.
But, since he did allow it, and the D Coach caught it, what should the penalty have been?
I believe it would be covered under 3-4 Illegal Substitute. The CR would have been called out and restricted to the bench.
If that is indeed the correct rule to cover this, it seems harsh on the girl who was just following her coach's instructions. I saw nothing about a penalty to the coach.
Any other rules that might apply here?
Thanx.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
|