View Single Post
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 13, 2015, 06:19am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Getting The Referee Involved Follows The Intent Of The Rule ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The rules state that the R corrects any timing errors ...
I'm playing devil's advocate here. Does the rule mean that only the referee can make a final decision to correct any timing error, or does it mean that only the referee can communicate that information to the table, or, to really push my devil's advocate point, does it mean that only the referee, not the timer, can physically touch the scoreboard controller, to change the time?

The last is absurd, but I do believe that the is wiggle room in there to allow the referee to make any final timing change decisions, and to allow the umpire to communicate that information to the table.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)